Skip to content

Charlton Athletic 1 Watford 0

Oh Lordy! Another big win against a team I think will be top six challengers this season.

I’ve always been a bit scurrilous when it comes to Watford, they are a hard act to like, but our paths have become a bit more aligned recently and we have had some good games with them since we got promoted back to The Championship.

Mind you the Hornets still retain their irksome tumbling, carping attitude and it was great to see the Addicks nick another great result off them today. It was also very satisfying to hear of Big Bob’s team give a defensive masterclass with I understand Solly, Wiggins, TBH and Bikey magnificent, and Henderson collecting most of the MoM platitudes.

As I said before, we can’t hope to forever hang on for success, and I wish we had added to the squad to give Peeters a player capable of holding the ball up when we are under the cosh. Peeters desire to pass the ball is admirable but it has been rare so far this season that we have dominated possession.

I will happily take a clean sheet though and a 1-0 win. Congrats to Yoni Buyens on the penalty and, I saw it earlier, what a great ball in by Cousins to Igor for the penalty.

I know I’m in the minority, but I still think, with no alternative, that Church maybe more helpful to Igor, but equally I admire Bob for attempting to keep a consistent line-up, and I do think George will prove his worth.

It was a great result, although pacing around Miami Beach constantly refreshing my phone a good 10 minutes after the Chelsea v Swansea game had finished, that we had watched, is not good for either roaming charges or my ticker!

Come on you Addicks.

Addick Bloggers at The Valley: Chris Powell’s Flat Cap; Hungry Ted; Charlton Casualty; Stickleback; And Nothing Else Matters; I could be wrong, I could be right; And it Becomes The Perfect Start.

Around the League: Just one point separates the top 5. Norwich two goals down at Cardiff ended winning 4-2 and Wolves drew at Blackpool giving Jose Riga’s men their first point. Brentford beat Brighton 3-2 in an entertaining game, Reading beat Fulham 3-0 to pile more pressure on Felix Magath and Chris Powell lost his first game in charge of Huddersfield after an injury time penalty gave Middlesbrough victory.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Daggs #

    You may be in the minority Chig. But not alone. Despite his failings and the constant denigration from Charlton fans, i think Church still has something to offer. His workrate, pace and tireless running could help Igor. Without a new striker to play the holding role, i would give Churchy a chance.
    The three points yesterday were hard won. Defensively we were sound. The midfield and forwards were poor. Watford will be wondering how they got nothing from the game.

    September 14, 2014

Leave a comment