Skip to content

Mascot

I head back again to London tonight and get to spend the day with my son tomorrow on his 11th birthday. However I think both of us are more excited about his birthday treat on Saturday.

I booked him in as one of the match mascot’s for Saturday’s game at home to Exeter at the beginning of the season and told him just a week or two ago. With the added exhilaration of there being a 20,000+ crowd at The Valley to run out of the tunnel to it will hopefully give him many memories to cherish forever.

I was talking to my brother the other day and exactly 30 season’s ago he was the match mascot (there was only one in those days) for a pre-Christmas match at home to Carlisle United. It was our promotion season but needless to say the crowd was a long way off 20,000. we think it was more like 5,000.

Anyway Charlton won 2-1, and my brother picked two favourite players, apparently so he was told, this had never been done before. Those players were a young Paul Walsh and the slightly more experienced Colin Powell who scored on the day to keep us top of the Division 3 table. The other Charlton goal was an own goal after Carlisle took the lead.

The Valley was a bit different 30 years ago even though my son will run out to the same famous song as my brother did three decades previous. My son has picked another winger in Scott Wagstaff as his favourite player and also selected a second as is tradition in Rob Elliot and my brother will join us on saturday so it will be a real family day out. “There’ll be no more sobbin’ when he starts throbbin’ his old sweet song.”

Before that on Friday night I will head over to see my Hornchurch mates and I’m really looking forward to seeing them for a few pints as it has been too long. Then I end this short trip with a stopover down on the East Sussex coast with my parents.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sounds like a fantastic weekend.
    I’m sure your son will make some memories to cherish.

    I fear I’m just a little bit old to be a mascot but I’d still love to experience walking out with the team.
    Probably wouldn’t hold hands with my favourite player though!

    February 17, 2011
  2. el_addick #

    Have a great day Chicago. It will definitely be a day to remember for all concerned.

    February 17, 2011
  3. It was funny. On Charlton Live on Sunday grown men were saying exactly the same Marco. That they would love to do it. The tour, in the dressing room, meet the players, the manager, run on the pitch, score in the Covered End, 22,000….. Right, my son is grounded Saturday 🙂

    February 17, 2011
  4. Charlton Lane Dave #

    I’ll hold my booing off `til the match starts as a sign of respect.

    February 18, 2011
    • Your son will love it. Mine was a mascot when he was 6 years old, and he had a great day. It’s a shame that 10 years later he is now a Palace fan!

      February 18, 2011
  5. Pembury Addick #

    We’ll give him a big big cheer CA.

    if he looks a little big for his kit I’ll know that you slipped him a mickey and took his place!

    have a really good one

    February 18, 2011
  6. Hungry Ted #

    Good stuff! Hope you and the young lad have a great day.

    Fingers crossed the Addicks don’t let us down with one of ‘those’ performances when the day has been so hyped up.

    February 18, 2011
  7. Alan #

    You’ll love it my son was mascot way back in 92, he was 12, at Upton Park when we beat Bristol Rover 4-1, Rob Lee’s last goal for Charlton, trouble was it was a tour of WHU’s trophy room! however we still have the picture of him with one Alex Dyer, and the whole evening didn’t cost us a penny. They got a fan for life though.

    February 18, 2011
  8. I think those Football Aid type matches are the nearest things adults can get to the mascot experience.

    I was mascot twice in the 1970s/80s (against Wrexham and QPR). We lost both times, although I recall Lawrie Madden was a lovely fella.

    Have fun.

    February 18, 2011

Leave a comment