Skip to content

Squad numbers

Despite my growing age putting me in ever higher brackets in surveys, I still take a keen interest in both Charlton kits and squad numbers. I haven’t worn a football shirt for donkeys, but I do like to check out the squad numbers for ideas of who is most likely to be first choice or any signs of wacky superstition by players.

Today is about the last day squad numbers can be announced, and that is what Charlton did today.

As Robinson had already revealed Ben Amos takes the no.1 shirt with Dillon Phillips obviously not superstitious, accepting the no.13, although it is expected that Robinson and Phillips would prefer a season on loan elsewhere. Mark Marshall is going to wear no.7, but not for a while sadly. Lookman and then Watt wore 7 last season. Tony Watt becomes 32, which he had already announced on his Twitter page.

Ahmed Kashi takes one of the few available first eleven shirts with no.3 and hopefully no.6 will make more appearances with Pearce wearing it as opposed to Roger Johnson last year. I guess Jason Pearce will take the armband with minimal first team appearances from no.4 Jacko.

Billy Clarke takes 10 from Nicky Ajose. Of course Ajose was never a ’10.’ Ben Reeves picks no.12, he was 10 at MK Dons.

A 27-man squad that looks more than capable, albeit with some thin areas particularly a back up for Magennis and at full back. Nonetheless on paper that squad should have ambitions of promotion. As a minimum.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. LP #

    Happy new season Chicago. Have you done the EFL survey yet? Love the fact you can put your own comments in. If they bother reading mine they should be under no illusions as to what I think of my beloved club.
    I really, really want to believe that Roly has learnt something – and I think I could be swayed to renew my season ticket if he sacked that woman. Meantime I’ll be spending my birthday at the Valley and praying things are going to get better at least on the pitch.

    August 4, 2017
  2. Happy new season LP.

    I did do the the survey and made additional comments 🙂

    I tend to agree, if RD removed KM and put an experienced CEO in there that he allowed to set strategy then I’d accept that as a positive too. Ain’t gonna happen though….

    Happy birthday 🎈

    August 4, 2017

Leave a Reply

