Skip to content

Happy New Year

As I sit here in my pyjamas with a beer with far too long to wait until midnight I feel content that I don’t have to go out and pretend tonight will be the best night of my life. Movies are downloading, my daughter sits at my feet and we have a fridge full of snacks. Good enough for me.

I turned 50 this year and we spent a couple of memorable weeks in Rio at the Olympics to celebrate it, although I’ll be honest I’ve struggled moving into the next decade of my life. Not physically, I feel good and I think I look alright but it has made me very introspective and I question myself a lot, especially when I wake in the middle of the night, which happens more and more. Must be old age and my eyes are going and my ears are getting bigger as well….

My 2016 had its challenges. Personally and professionally. Questions without answers. Vacillant sometimes, headstrong other times.

Charlton are no longer an escape for me or sadly for the majority of us. I never ever thought my love for them would wane, but incredibly it has and it breaks my heart.

From the age of 8 to my mid 30’s I scarcely missed a Charlton home game and went to hundreds of aways. Other than maybe a late consolation in a stuffing, and there were a fair few of those, the feeling of a Charlton goal would without fail every time drive me to the edge of frenzy. And a goal conceded was always met with dread. Since moving abroad I’ve still seen a lot of games, although just three this past calendar year for reasons obvious, but I still, well used to, get totally wrapped up in games. But now when we are playing I feel nothing. Nothing at all.

The current owners have not only stolen the heart and soul from the club, but they have sterilized it. I am confident that one day we will rid ourselves of Roland Duchâtelet and Katrien Meire, but they need to go soon, before it is too late.

Anyway on a more positive note. Bermuda still captivates us, mostly, My kids continue to do me proud. My son aced his GSCE’s and is lovely lad and my daughter just throws herself headlong into everything including swimming where she appears to have a real talent.

I’d like to thank everyone of you for continuing to make this Blog part of your daily routine. Extra thanks to those that comment and get in touch offline. This Blog has always meant many things to me, but predominantly is it about Charlton Athletic, and that has been a very tough and disturbing subject to write about these past 12 months.

Whether you are sat in your pyjamas or having the best night of your life. I would like to wish you and those that you love the very best for 2017. I hope it brings us all health and happiness.

Cheers,
CA

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. steve1957 #

    Happy New Year CA.

    Mine was spent on the local beach with my daughter and hundreds of others.

    I’m in the UK over Easter this year. I haven’t even checked the fixtures, that shows how disassociated I too have become.

    January 1, 2017
  2. Wyn Grant #

    Happy New Year. Just wait until you make 70 and have to have your knees replaced.

    January 1, 2017
    • You don’t act 70 Wyn. Dodgy knees or not. Happy New Year to you.

      January 1, 2017
  3. Happy New Year CA.

    January 1, 2017
  4. larry #

    charlton may leave the man ; but the man never leaves Charlton. I’m over 80 and seen good and bad times with the club — keep the faith , its worth it the end happy 2017 to you

    January 1, 2017
  5. Steve #

    Cheers CA and you too.
    Don’t always agree with your viewpoints which is no bad thing but do enjoy your posts and find them well written and articulate.
    The passion will return I’m sure – if you’re like me, denying the feelings helps deal with the pain but the feelings are still there for sure.
    Got a good feeling about KR, hoping he can walk the talk, we’ll see.
    Don’t get too down about the owner – inept, irrational, bizarre for sure but staying power is what’s needed here.

    January 1, 2017
  6. Appreciate that Steve. Happy New Year.

    January 1, 2017
  7. Bob Miller #

    Snap out of it CA! You’re just a puppy at 50! As per Wyn & Larry’s comments and coming from someone in between their respective ages, there’s a great deal ahead, lots of positives and life is good! Happy New Year to you and yours!

    January 1, 2017

Leave a Reply

