Skip to content

GSCE’s

Whilst that summer many decades ago I spent sweating on the results of my O Levels, probably because in my heart I knew that unless the markers had got the papers mixed up, it wasn’t likely to be good news, my son went through his pro-longed summer break confidently predicting his GSCE grades.

Maybe it is a change in both the times and the difficultly of the papers, but after each exam he would give his prediction, one text to me after his Maths paper telling me “it was awesome.” I don’t know what genes he has to think such a thing, as I still get nervous at any sign of exam.

And sure enough on Thursday last week, he called me nonchalantly claiming his A grade in Maths, along with 7 B grades and 2 C’s. He even predicted his Chemistry failure, a D.

I like to think I am not a thicko and he is a rocket scientist, but whereas whether through nerves or a complete inability to be find a revision system that a) worked, and b) inspired me to study, not being naturally clever or lucky I was always going to struggle, yet his school has pretty much groomed it’s pupils to reach this point in time, i.e. walking away with 10 GSCE passes, by systematically teaching learning and study skills, and making subjects more energizing and enjoyable.

Tests and cross examination has also become a way of life, readying him for this point in time. For me, from memory, O Level exams just always appeared as a field full of land mines waiting for us up ahead when we were hormonal and spotty.

Anyway, my son’s results are a credit to him, he dedicated so much time to study and gave up so much, which is not always easy to see the cost benefit in, when you are 16. He deserved his success, and got his just rewards, which in hindsight perhaps I did as well. Fortunately for me I lived in a time, where a foot in the door, some dedication and a spark allowed me to prove myself in the work environment and not in study hall.

Well done son, I am very proud of you.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wyn Grant #

    Congratulations to him. I managed to get five O levels. My granddaughter has just got ten GCSEs, 1 A* and 5 As.

    August 28, 2016
  2. Martin Cowan #

    CA, well done to your son. I too struggled to get five O Levels back in 1982 (and two A Levels two years later). My youngest daughter has just achieved ten GCSEs (1 A* and 3 As) and your analysis of modern schooling is spot on.

    August 28, 2016
    • Thanks Martin. And congratulations to your daughter. That is a marvellous achievement.

      August 28, 2016
  3. Nigel Reddick #

    Nice one CA – give him our hearty congratulations!

    pembury Addick

    August 29, 2016

Leave a Reply

