Skip to content

Charlton Athletic 3 Shrewsbury Town 0 

Thanks again to my ever reliable Mother who buzzed my phone in quick succession with goal flashes as I tucked into a big plate of ribs and chips in Rio.

Was nice to hear of us scoring a few goals, and Ricky Holmes already looks a popular and worthy addition. Of course Ricky has a long way to go to reach Jacko legend status. 

The attendance, official one at least was the lowest league gate at The Valley for almost 20 years. 

Anyway on a positive note 4 points from 3 games represents an okay start. But Walsall away on Saturday represents I think our first real test. Hopefully Slade and the boys can carry tonight’s result forward. 

Addick Bloggers at The Valley

Slade says: “We worked very hard in pre-season and it didn’t come straight away. We thought it might have come Saturday, but we didn’t quite manage to do it, but we did manage to do it tonight.”

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. a2c #

    CAFC 3 Exenophobes 0

    August 17, 2016
    • At least use the English language correctly – there is no E at the front of the word xenophobe. Not sure The Shrews would welcome you calling them ‘Exenophobes’ either

      August 17, 2016
    • Bore off

      August 17, 2016
  2. LP #

    Ricky Holmes you say – from the East stand I thought it was Alan Simmonsen. Not getting carried away – Shrewsbury were more like 4th division – but how pleasant to score 3 goals.
    Anyway, my big news was a close encounter in the street with Mdme Miere. I am so sorry Chicago – I had left my gun at home – there was not a soul in sight either – just the two of us. Not wishing to result to stereotype I remained polite and explained in words of one syllable what I would like Roly to do. There was the inevitable smirk and a ‘sure, sure’ which felt like a pat on the head. Patronising cow. Did I feel I had wasted my breath? Yes, and no – we just have to keep reinforcing that neither of them are wanted.

    August 17, 2016
    • Good for you. Her skin is thicker than a Rhinoceros. But no one can take that much adverse opinion. We need to keep nicking away at her and her absent boss. It’s a long game and whilst she’s looking for a law job whilst paying to hide her Google profile, you, me and thousands of others will be supporting our club.

      August 17, 2016
    • Oh by the way. I loved Alan Simonsen, even though it almost put us under.

      August 17, 2016
  3. Not sure a2c would pass the UK residency test with such poor use of the English Language, or has he just stepped out of the Tardis?

    August 18, 2016

Leave a Reply

