Skip to content

Richard Murray steps down 

Richard Murray is to step down as chairman of Charlton due to ill health. 

A statement on the Official Site Murray said: “Over the past few weeks I have been having various tests regarding my health and it’s been discovered I have a number of malignant tumours in my stomach which require minor surgery at this stage.”

I have met Richard on numerous occasions, and I know that he has only ever tried to do his very best for Charlton Athletic and he should be judged over 25 years. However in recent times many of us have questioned his judgment as party to the utter mismanagement of our club. But those questions are not for now.

Richard Murray he is a good man and I would like to send my unconditional best wishes to Richard and really hope that he makes a speedy recovery. Get well soon Richard. 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Totally agree your comments C.A,, I would never be prepared to judge him since the clowns took over, he can only advise, and not forgetting he still is owed a sum of money from the club. Get well soon Richard.

    August 15, 2016
  2. LP #

    I have found the whole recent debacle at the club so distressing, but in particular the way fans turned against Richard – and I am not saying this now because he is ill. I know some felt let down by him but I go back to a time when I would have eloped with him had he asked for being part of rebuilding our club and giving me some pride in who I supported for the first time. His time working with Alan Curbishley is something to be treasured and how we used to get everything so right at every level. So, thank you Richard, and I wish you a full recovery. I wish this as much as I wish the current owner would simply go away.

    August 15, 2016

Leave a Reply

