Skip to content

No closure. Yet

So last season. Have you moved on? The fixtures are out. Bury away on the first day. Northampton up first at home. Is there closure yet? Is the fact that the liar and her enabler may have after two and a half years finally accepted that their judgement was utter garbage. No apologies, but a poker faced acceptance that the two of them don’t have a clue what they are doing.

I am still mentally digesting this past season. It’s going to take me a while. In fact for me anyway there will never be closure. Those scars will not fade, the bare faced lies will never vanish. The treading of Belgium feet all over my Lego Millennium Falcon, disintegrating it into a thousand pieces, can never be rebuilt under the hands of Roland Duchatelet and Katrien Meire.

Does that stop me supporting the team I first saw before Meire was even born, does that stop me cheering the next assortment of men, whether they are from Iran or Ickenham in a red shirt. No it certainly does not. But I am am unable to forget how these two trespassers walked into something so precious to me and indiscriminately ripped it apart, with no care as to the future or the past.

I think Russell Slade, if allowed and given time, will be good for Charlton Athletic. He feels like a Charlton manager. The signing of Holmes and Novak is positive, and I realize the unnecessary relegation to League One means there will be player losses. Jordan Cousins deserves a chance at a higher level and I will not begrudge him or others a move.

Depending on the honest extent of the budget and League One financial restrictions, we may still hope to have Kashi, Bauer and one or two others on board come August 6th, but I wait with interest to see what squad depth and strength Slade is allowed to muster come August and by onset of the first transfer deadline.

In the meantime the owner will be getting nothing from me. Duchatelet will remain ignorant and silent whilst our CEO will simply open her gob and out will drop a white lie. I won’t rest until they are gone.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. DarrzzettBum #

    I actually met her yesterday, honestly, I like to think she has learned from her past mistakes and took on board what I and my 2 colleagues discussed with her, time will of course tell but I am more optimistic than I have been for a very long time. Roland is going nowhere, for the time being. I will though continue to support CARD and their sponsor.

    June 24, 2016
  2. DarrzzettBum #

    Cheers CA, you gonna buy one?

    June 24, 2016

Leave a Reply

