Skip to content

Bury away

Wallop. What was that? The realization crashing down that we are back in League One.

Bury away, Northampton home, Shrewsbury home, Walsall away. Our first four games. Full list here.

‘Highlights’ include Parky back with Bolton on August 27th, our first ever game against AFC Wimbledon on September 17th, Millwall away on October 8th, Gillingham away October 22nd and Sheffield United home on November 26th.

We are away on both Boxing Day and New Years Eve, but have short journeys to MK Dons and Southend. Easter Monday we host Gillingham. The run in looks a tad tricky, but there are some enticing away trips to Northampton, Sheffield United, Peterborough, Coventry and Chesterfield if we are doing well.

One of my bug bears are long midweek journeys. I note that we play Port Vale, Bristol Rovers, Oldham and Shrewsbury away on a Tuesday night.

Anyway, a weird mix of anticipation and depression as those fixtures were announced this morning.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow I’m so excited NOT

    June 22, 2016
  2. Peter #

    My overriding feeling was one of apathy, I’m sad to say

    June 22, 2016
  3. steve1957 #

    Last year we had a beer together before the first game at home to QPR. Sorry that I won’t be at the Oak for the game at home to Northampton. Actually, no, I’m not sorry at all, it just hits home when you see that fixture list. I wonder what the crowd will be?

    June 22, 2016
    • We did Steve. I have been at our opening game for as long as I can remember. But not this season.

      June 22, 2016
  4. Brian Wakefield #

    This is the first year in 48 I haven’t renewed my season ticket, nor will I. The first year I haven’t gone through my diary within minutes of the fixture release and put them all in. We planned to go to the odd away match only, now I’ve seen it, there are none I fancy. Looking forward to a conference season now with our local club Maidstone. Sorry guys, and Roland, but after missing 6 home matches since the 68/69 season, it’s goodnight from me, and it’s goodnight from him.

    June 22, 2016

Leave a Reply

