Skip to content

The 2015 Shower Gellies™

I always coincide my Gellies™ with the Oscars, and unless you are either a shower gel watchdog, or have been unfortunate to have found yourself on my Blog at this time of year before then you either haven’t a clue what I’m on about, or think that I am so disillusioned by everything Charlton Athletic that I have taken to writing about the pros and cons of bodily cleaning fluids.

Whilst over in Hollywood there is all kinds of razzmatazz today, here at the Chicago Addick Theatre, we keep it short and sweet. No brouhaha, no red carpet, but there will be bubbles, lots of them, but be careful not to get it in your eyes!

Since this time last year I have put my head down in 19 different hotels, and from memory I bathed in all of them. Other than the honeymooners in the next room, what is worse than stood in the shower naked and wet and reaching out to where you’d expect the shampoo and shower gel to be and finding a rough old piece of soap or some awful smelling liquid in a container as big as a pill box?

See, you’re getting me, aren’t you.

There are many things to get annoyed about when staying in hotels – hard beds, lumpy pillows, thin walls, valet rip off, the cost of WiFi, the long list of taxes and fees upon check out, paying through the nose for bottles of water and mini bar items, but the thing that gets my goat every time is the utter lack of shower gel.

So one day in said shower cubicle I devised an award for it. About 9 years ago and as I am one for tradition and history, here are the winners of the 2015 Chicago Addick Shower Gellies™:

The ‘Shower Gel Heaven’ Award Winner is: Four Seasons, Canary Wharf
I don’t think I had ever stayed in a hotel where the bell boy after bringing your cases in, looked up and said, oh there are 3 of you, you will need more luxurious shower gel, or words to that affect. He returned minutes later with a weeks supply. He got a nice tip.

Website: Four Seasons, Canary Wharf

The ‘You Charge How Much a Night, and This Is It’ Award Winner is: Stanford Court, San Francisco, California
A Boutique hotel in the Nob Hill area of San Francisco. One afternoon after a day of meetings I decided to walk up one of the many steep crevices of a San Francisco street. Feeling fulfilled but utterly sweaty, I jumped in the shower to get ready for dinner, closed my eyes, put my hand out, and…. You can guess the rest.

Website: Stanford Court

The ‘Showering In Fresh Air’ Award goes to: Embassy Suites,  Napa Valley, California
Not sure what it is about these Californian’s but cleanliness is not next to godliness. This was a suite hotel with dishwasher, fridge, oven, bidet, it’s own living room, coffee table and a huge shower but no dishes, no food, no girls bottoms, no chairs, no coffee and no bloody shower gel. What is the point?

Website: Embassy Suites, Napa Valley

Previous years winners:  

2006; 2007; 20082009; 2010; 2011; 2012;  2013; 2104

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

