Skip to content

2015 Top Five Favourite Albums

The last of my 2015 Top Fives and I will end on a musical note with my 2015 Top Five Favourite Albums. I have probably missed a few good ones, and I am always looking for recommendations but from those that I downloaded and admired these were the ones I kept going back to:

1) Mumford & Sons – Wilder Mind
I was never a great fan of the banjo folky rock stuff. But this with full on electric guitar was brilliant. Powerful singalong rocky anthems. Thank you.

2) The Maccabees – Marks To Prove It
Three years since the awesome Given To The Wild, this album was recorded in an Elephant & Castle and is a tribute to the band’s south London Roots. Beutifully crafted, passionately delivered. Fantastic.

3) Catfish and the Bottlemen – The Balcony
The Welsh rockers have been around for a while, but I think they only really took off last year. Recommended early in the year by a mate, the sound is nothing very new but this was my go to listener for a good few months, so I had to include them.

4) Coldplay – A Head Full Of Dreams
Starry eyed pop at it’s best. Coldplay have done it again, but I thought this album was their most accomplished for some time.

5) Grimes – Art Angels
New to me this lady otherwise known as Canadian Claire Boucher. Mainstream yet a very original sound. Some deep and playful lyrics too.

There were a few other favourites, so honourable mentions to: Foals – What Went Down, Lana Del Rey – Honeymoon, New Order – Music Complete.

My complete list of My 2015 Top Five Favourites:

Top 5 Restaurants
Top 5 TV shows
Top 5 Hotels
Top 5 Bermuda Things
Top 5 Places

One Comment Post a comment
  1. David Gilbert #

    Released in 1995, Tigerlily was the seminal solo album for former 10,000 Maniacs singer Natalie Merchant. Twenty years later she’s released “Paradise is There” a rerecording of the same songs but this time with strings replacing the guitars. Both variations of “Carnival” are fantastic. I can’t make up my mind which album I prefer. You make up your own mind.

    I was hooked after hearing Justin Townes Earle in 2010 on Garrison Keillor’s A Prairie Home Companion. Shame Garrison has retired, I can’t bring myself to listen anymore. The estranged son of Steve Earle, Justin’s Albums seem to get better and better with “Absent Fathers” released in January 2015 a constant companion in my car all of 2015.

    DG

    January 30, 2016

Leave a Reply

