Skip to content

2015 Top Five Favourite Hotels

My Favourite Things would not be my favourite things if it didn’t include hotels. One day I will find the perfect place and never leave. In 2015 I stayed in 21 different hotels, a smaller number than the year before as I did less work travel.

So come with me and feel the 500 thread count and play with the remote control blinds and find out which were my Top Five Favourite Hotels from my travels last year:

1) St Regis, Buckhead, Georgia
We first stayed here in 2011 and it won my Top Five that year. We have stayed there more recently but was less impressed, but we gave it another shot in December and it was back to it’s best and you would be hard pushed to find a hotel that is more Christmassy at this time of the year with it’s beautiful tree in the lobby (photo), the winter ice rink, the huge handcrafted gingerbread house and the yummy free hot chocolate.

2) Eau Palm Beach, Florida
I love Palm Beach and this place had recently been ‘envisioned’ which is hotel talk for decorated. It was a cookie-cutter Ritz Carlton before but now the Eau has a real Palm Beach feel to it with lovely outside spaces and Jonathan Adler inspired rooms.

image3) 9Hotel, Brussels
I was here with my Mum and son in August and this little hotel was perfectly situated, modern on the right side of trendy with everything we needed. The staff were helpful and friendly and they did a cracking breakfast as part of our room rate.

4) Four Seasons, Orlando
My Top 5 winner last year. The Four Seasons in Lake Buena Vista is a breathtaking property. High tech, incredible grounds, spacious rooms, great restaurants and endless kid stuff to do without being a slave to Mickey & Minnie.

5) The Viceroy, New York
A mate picked this for a boys weekend in September. Great location, with good service and a good sized basic room, which are to find in this part of town. The Kingside restaurant for brunch was a great addition as was The Roof top bar.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. steve1957 #

    Maybe I’ll make it next year. Happy New Year CA. From BA.

    January 4, 2016

Leave a Reply

