Skip to content

Phil Chapple to leave

Phil Chapple, once known as Bambi on Ice, but more recently known as the Charlton’s Chief Scout, is leaving the club after 9 years. In that time Chapple had held various scouting positions but for some years has headed Charlton’s player recruitment strategy, which under Roland Duchatelet would have taken some adjustment.

Chapple has been headhunted by Fulham, and one would think that job would currently be a more attractive proposition, and I say this with my irrational hatred of Fulham hat on.

It is hard to judge a chief scout’s success and influence without knowing which players Chapple has referred or recommended in the past 9 years. Katrien Meire would often throw Chapple’s name into interviews as someone that monitored and studied players before they were proposed to the owner. That Fulham have moved for him and that he wants to leave tells it’s own story perhaps. Chapple also turned down an interview with the Trust’s fanzine to discuss summer recruitment recently which would indicate that he’s rather not talk publicly about his position.

There are many hidden but valuable roles within the fabric of a football club that are essential in the team’s success, both short or long term and that would include a robust and clever player scouting strategy. Chapple would have been part of a large net of European scouts but his departure is another block of ‘that Charlton’ foundation eroding. I just hope Steve Avory’s doesn’t get unsettled.

No doubt the owner or the CEO will pay little acknowledgment to Phil Chapple’s work and I wait for the exclusive ‘Why I left Charlton’ interview with SLP scribe and Fulham fan Rich Cawley in the future.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nigel Reddick #

    It doesn’t exactly leave you with a warm glow inside does it CA?

    Pembury Addick

    September 28, 2015
  2. David #

    Another Charlton man of the old school leaves the building.

    Can’t be many left, if any, now. Good luck Phil, I hope you don’t come back to haunt us.

    After 54 years, I feel so distant these days from the club I would have once crawled through Danson Park and up and over Shooters Hill on my knees to watch, I think I’ll spend Sunday in the garden rather than put myself through another 90 minutes of boredom.

    Maybe the day is fast approaching when I hang up my scarf and rattle for good.

    Not a happy Valley these days.

    September 28, 2015
    • David, that is why I mentioned Steve Avory. If he leaves/headhunted then I would seriously worry about the fabric of the club.

      Don’t hang up the scarf. I moved away from the UK in 2003 and my love for the club has never diminished. Dismay may have grown but I’m not ready to hang up the scarf yet.

      September 30, 2015
  3. Rick #

    “All in all another Brick in The Wall “

    September 29, 2015

Leave a Reply

