Skip to content

More Cherries

Bournemouth are very excited about the prospect of having another 1,400 fans at The Valley on Saturday week. Yesterday Charlton announced that they will offer the Cherries 1,400 seats in the Upper West, blocks P, Q, R and a piece of N at the end nearest the Jimmy Seed Stand.

I think this is a sensible decision by Katrien Meire, although it will inconvenience some season ticket holders who will be forced to move. I would expect that those season ticket holders that must only number around the 100 mark will be miffed but I am glad to hear that they are getting personal phone calls from the club and they will be treated to a bacon butty for their bother. Bournemouth are also paying any associated additional costs, including I assume the bacon and ketchup.

We’ve all done it, sat or stood in home ends biting our tongues, and it can cause some uncomfortable moments. In fact I still have a letter from the club of my apparent abuse of Nottingham Forest fans sat in front of me and fellow season ticket holders in the East Stand when they started to give it large after scoring.

Bournemouth are not Leeds, Millwall or Birmingham and therefore I can live with it, and of course if it was roles reversed I would be doing anything to get into their little Dean Court.

I have no axe to grind with Bournemouth, only that I wished Eddie Howe would have chosen us over Burnley and that they have one of my favourite players from the last decade playing for them, and that is not Simon Francis. What it should mean is a crowd approaching 20,000, and I’m looking forward to seeing the joint display of thermos flasks in the West Stand.

My only hope is that it is a good day out (I will be there) and that our players are up for it and can leave a lasting good memory to take into next season. I still count that Leicester game at Upton Park in 1992 as one of my favourite games from that era when we were outnumbered two to one.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ken #

    Gotta be brown sauce on a bacon butty, CA. 🙂

    April 23, 2015
  2. Martin Cowan #

    CA, it would be nice for us to be party poopers for once….

    April 23, 2015
  3. Daggs #

    I feel much the same as you CA. But on the day i hope we don’t roll over. I hope we give them a game and indeed beat them.
    Whether they get promoted or not is not our affair. Winning our games is.

    April 24, 2015
  4. LP #

    It gladdens my heart when we still get some things right at the club – good luck to the Bournemouth fans. And talking of getting things right good on CAST for their latest challenge of WHU. It is a scandal – and as for that Brady woman this week announcing their season ticket prices – how dare she treat all football fans as if they are stupid. Going on about using TV money to reduce their prices in that holier than thou way – they have had TV money for years and have they reduced their prices at Upton Park? No – they have a huge stadium to fill or else they are going to look stupid. The corruption at that club knows no bounds. And always remember, they and Bolton were the two clubs who stopped Peter Varney and Richard Murray from getting a much fairer deal for all clubs with the TV money. Bolton have got their just deserts – lets hope WHU get theirs one day. (And don’t start me off about the whole Tevez thing – it still rankles).

    April 25, 2015
    • LP – please don’t leave me here on my own in the summer. I love your canny and perspicuous comments.

      My thing with West Ham is their fans trying to force Big Sam out. If he leaves, they’ll go down next season. Mark my words. That wouldn’t be funny would it?

      April 25, 2015

Leave a Reply

