Skip to content

The year in Blog numbers

Hangover central in our house today after a night out in town with friends. The other half is already in bed (7.10pm), the little ‘un was next (note to social services: she does not have a hangover) and I’ll be next.

Good hangover reading was going through my WordPress Blog stats for 2014 and they were pleasantly surprising.

I had 199,000 page views in 2014, which is more than double the previous year, probably because after 9 years of writing News Now finally acknowledged my Blog as a ‘Charlton Athletic one’ and carried links to it on their club page. News Now referred 55,000 readers to my posts.

Thanks also to Forever Charlton, Doctor Kish, Drinking During the Game and Phil’s And Nothing Else Matters that directed a lot of traffic also.

The most clicked link from those listed down the right hand side there was Charlton Life, followed by Wyn’s Addicks Championship Diary and the Official CAFC website.

The busiest month was May, and the most read post was Poyet joins West Ham, boosted no doubt by intrigued Hammers’ fans as to why we should be so concerned as to one of their future reserve players!

My most read ever individual post is something I wrote in February 2011 called Paco Peña Flamenco, which was an account of a night out we had watching a flamenco show as part of the Bermuda Festival.

No comments, but in almost 4 years 6,479 views from all over the world, with rarely a day going by without someone unearthing it. Makes me chuckle.

The most popular day for visitors was Sunday, and I wrote 280 new posts (202 in 2013), with the longest gap without one only 4 days. Sad aren’t I?

Lastly my favourite stat is where the visitors come from. These numbers blow me away, and are very humbling.

I had visitors from 151 different countries last year including one from Eritrea, two from Macao and 133 from Russia!

Naturally the UK topped out the list with 169,000, then the United States, Australia, Canada and Ireland.

France was the highest non-English speaking country and like other Charlton Bloggers, I am suddenly popular in Belgium, with 1,270 visits from the home of Roland in 2014.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wyn Grant #

    Well done on another great year’s blogging. I should look at my stats, although I suspect they are lower.

    January 2, 2015
    • Thank you Wyn. It was interesting to see you review your output during the year. Something that is healthy for bloggers. I would think that your output was greater though. Happy New Year.

      January 2, 2015
      • Wyn Grant #

        I’ve checked my numbers and they are just under half a million, a big increase on the preceding year.

        January 2, 2015
        • Congratulations. I think there has always been an extraordinary thirst for posts and articles from Charlton fans and we have always had some excellent and thoughtful blog contributors. That obviously isn’t diminishing.

          January 2, 2015
  2. Phil #

    Happy new year CA ! 280 posts is impressive, well done. I’ve struggled to maintain a lower amount of late. Hopefully, we’ll all be writing about our numerous new signings in the next few days ! Phil.

    January 2, 2015
    • Thanks Phil. Transfer deadline always sees a spike with supporters thirsty for news or even silly rumours. Let the signings begin 🙂

      January 2, 2015
  3. Ketts #

    Brilliant stuff CA, keep it up mate.

    January 2, 2015

Leave a Reply

