Skip to content

Happy New Year

2014 wasn’t the smoothest of years. At home we had to come through some personal anguish, my other half also lost her job and I attended a funeral of someone close that came all too suddenly. Work is never easy and will continue to be challenging and not in a revolutionary way.

On the flip side I went to a couple of great weddings, headlined by my brothers, where he and his now wife pulled off a glorious day in the middle of a forest. My daughter started primary school and is absolutely flourishing and my son continues to make great strides at his school in Kent as he approaches his GSCE’s head on.

I got to cross off more places to visit on my long list and we were lucky to have a couple of fabulous holidays.

Charlton Athletic of course continue to be both the ying and the yang of one’s frame of mind, but that is why we love them and undoubtedly the Addicks sit in a better place today than they did 12 months ago, although the sacking of Chris Powell wasn’t one of my year’s most endearing moments.

We continue to appreciate living in Bermuda, although personal ambition and a change of work leadership continues to play tricks on what lies in our future.

I also worry myself that I start, if I haven’t already, to become one of those expats on the island that are happily ensconced in the ‘bubble.’ Comfortable, blithe and disengaged. I work hard not to be, and keep a broad perspective. Family and friends are of course a great frame of reference.

This blog reached a milestone, of which I am very proud. It was 10-years old in June, which coincided with Brazil 2014 and 40 years of supporting Charlton Athletic, a bumpy love affair of which I could not be without.

I’d like to thank you all for continuing to take time to stop by and read my ramblings, and of course comments are always a welcome vote of confidence.

Happy New Year.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. David #

    I always enjoy your posts, Chicago. A Very Happy New Year to you and yours.

    David from a sunny, but frosty, Bexley

    December 31, 2014
  2. steve1957 #

    Happy New Year CA from a hot and sunny Phuket. Maybe we can get to the same game(s) in 2015

    December 31, 2014
  3. Happy New Year Steve. Be great to catch a game together next year.

    December 31, 2014
  4. Best wishes for New Year CA. Let’s hope we can finally show some solid home form in 2015. As you say, Charlton are the ying and yang of so many lives and we have suffered as season ticket holders pretty much since 2007. I include the promotion season from League One in that because we were efficient rather than impressive.That’s a long time and we really need to find consistency and a way to impress our home fans – Ipswich showed us that last night.

    December 31, 2014
    • Same to you Dave. Is it any wonder why the club are struggling to get people through the door? I’ve just checked and Charlton have won 42% of their home league games since being relegated from the Premier League. 73 wins in 173 games. 39 of those wins were in League One!

      January 1, 2015
  5. Nigel Reddick #

    Very best wishes to you and your family for 2015 – as usual CA I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog in 2014

    cheers

    Pembury Addick

    December 31, 2014
  6. Robert Addickted #

    Happy New Year to you and your family Chicago. Our man in Bermuda has given us blog readers an added exotic backdrop to all that is Charlton. Many thanks for that and your well thought out observations. Here’s to another year that just might see our beloved Charlton in a far better position than anyone of us could have imagined.

    January 1, 2015

Leave a Reply

