Skip to content

2014 Top 5 Favourite TV Shows

I hope you all had a great Christmas, and I know you have been wondering what Santa missed. Well, I am here to tell you. My next installment of my 2014 Top Five’s.

Christmas always reminds me of great family television back at home, but sadly Bermuda is a slave to the American networks and cable channels, which I long gave up watching, apart from a couple of channels, and instead became a fan of the box set. Not interrupted by adverts, schedule changes or time zones, the other half and I fly through them at a rate of knots. Equally whenever I travel my iPad is always juiced up with the latest download.

It was another great year for TV drama, but I have my picks and you need to bear in mind I may well have watched them after they were released on television here or in the UK.

Here are My 2014 Top 5 Favourite TV Shows:

1) True Detective
A dark and deep crime thriller unlike any other series, meaning that it was designed as an anthology, i.e. one story per season. A beginning, middle, and an end, no we’ll all be back next year scenario. The tale of cops Rust Cohle and Marty Hart played by the Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson and the 17-year search for the man who gruesomely and ritualistically killed a young woman.

2) Game of Thrones, Season 3
I am not a fan at all of fantasy futuristic science fiction, yet like a lot of people the Game of Thrones played tricks with my imagination. I flew through this season taken aback by breathtaking visuals, the horrors of war, the danger of shifting alliances and the anguish of intra-family rivalries, which often had me stumbling over who was on whose side.

3) Sherlock, Season 3
Once again just 3 BBC episodes starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman and set in the modern day but with references to a remembered past. Tremendously clever with superb storytelling. More to come apparently.

4) Endeavour, Seasons 1 & 2
Starring Shaun Evans as a young Inspector Morse set in the mid to late 1960’s. I loved this show, which I only came across this year. Done with great sensitivities to the original Morse, clever and pictorially fantastic mysteries.

5) Homeland, Season 3
The ongoing aftermath of the terrorist attack committed by Abu Nazir and his followers. I did wonder if this might be one season too many (I haven’t seen season 4 yet), but the knack for building surprises was not lost, although the episodes mostly dealt in uncompromising terms the dark depths of Carrie (Claire Danes), Saul (Mandy Patinkin), Jessica (Morena Baccarin), Dana (Morgan Saylor) and Brody himself (Damian Lewis), it was still edge of the seat stuff.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

