Skip to content

The English way

Watching England has for the longest time been akin to watching paint dry, but I really did enjoy last night’s 3-1 victory over Scotland and it made me question why our national team insist on changing their game to attempt to match-up with the opposition.

Why Roy Hodgson can’t get England to play with the same intensity and pace when they play against Spain, Germany, France, Estonia and others I don’t know. Why do we insist in trying to play like Spain against Spain or like a South American team against a South American team? You can’t tell me that if we played with the same speed and fearlessness against Uruguay in Brazil we would have seen the same outcome.

Of course this is early in the season, players are fresher than they would be in a tournament played abroad in June, but I think we have a hell of a better chance of progressing in tournaments if we play the only real way we know how.

Perhaps last night’s ‘local derby’ brought out the very best of England, it didn’t Scotland mind, but for once it was very enjoyable to watch and particularly satisfying to see a young team so up for it.

The fans were superb too, both sets provided an electric atmosphere, monotonous and unimaginative anti IRA songs aside and I hope that this game can become a regular fixture on the calendar.

If Hodgson can settle on a system and an English way of playing I might watch them again.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. daggs #

    Personally. I support England all the time just as i support Charlton all the time. It’s not always easy, but I’m English and a Charlton supporter. Two things that will never change.

    November 19, 2014
  2. Not saying I don’t support England all the time, just find it hard to watch especially this qualifying competition. Difference with Charlton is that I accept their limitations, but with England I struggle to. I enjoyed the game last night though.

    November 19, 2014
  3. Martin Cowan #

    It’s a long time since I’ve seen England play this well. They were dreadful in the World Cup and I’ve not seen anything since to change this view. However, as you say, against Scotland they played with passion, verve, skill and no little style. Even the boy Rooney performed well!!

    November 20, 2014

Leave a Reply

