Skip to content

Millwall

Like a lot of Addicks of a certain age this fixture haunts me now as it did when I was a kid.

My brother and I grew up with a Millwall supporting family living next door. The two sons and us were very close well into our early 30’s, and at school in Catford there were many Millwall fans, no one supported Palace, because they were, well nothing. I had a load of mates that were Millwall, still have a couple and I used to occasionally go and watch them midweek in the 80’s when Charlton weren’t playing.

Our record against our local rivals is pathetic and I would argue, and one day I will do the research, probably the worst of any local derby rivals in English football. 11 wins in 68 league matches beginning in 1921. Incidentally 2 of those 11 wins came in the first two games in December 1921 and January 1922!

Owners, players, managers and head coaches change, and there has been a couple of periods of long inactivity, but the hold that they have had over us has never swayed.

On Saturday we have another twist to this sorry tale when ex-Millwall striker Bob Peeters will be in our dugout directing our performance. Bob has made quite an impression on us Addicks and he will be aware of what is needed to make it into Charlton Athletic folklore alongside Kim Grant, John Hendry, Jim Melrose and George Shipley, who both scored within 3 minutes of each other at the Cold Blow Lane end in 1986, where my brother and I stood. Melrose, I will always remember, climbed the fence to celebrate. My brother and I didn’t think we were going to make it out alive.

Happy memories few and far between.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. DorsetBum #

    My 1st ever game in 1968, we scored 3 and guess what,they got 4, have seen us beat them though 3 times since, but seen many more defeats + few draws. One game at their place we were 2-0 minutes to go, Millwall mates we were with cleared off before the end, when we met them later in the “Gin Palace” and they had beers waiting for us (thinks it’s no longer a pub sadly) they wouldn’t believe us when we told them it was a draw.

    I shan’t be there Saturday but I will nervously keep checking my phone, although I am confident of 3 (not very easy) points.

    November 17, 2014
  2. Peter #

    Did you see Rod Liddle’s suggestion in yesterday’s Sunday Times: ” I do hope that Charlton Athletic try performing something similar (i.e. the haka) at The Den before the game and we’ll see just how far they get”? Might be worth a try at home, at least, on Saturday šŸ˜‰

    November 17, 2014
  3. Dave Parish #

    Millwall V cool on this one, dispute the ‘All Sold Out’ and the desperate “Where can I get a Ticket?” pleas!
    D.B. Trotter “Play it nice and cool son, nice and cool”.
    See you down the Nags Head later.
    A tough 2-1 to us. COYR
    PS If they win I will attack with a very hot Feta cheese and spinach pasty, they (literally) won’t know what’s hit em!

    November 18, 2014
  4. Geoff #

    We’ve got a guaranteed system. No1Son, whose betting record is terrible, will put his dosh on the Spanners to jinx them. If despite that they win, he gets financial compensation. But what he wants for his birthday is three big fat points.

    November 19, 2014
  5. Pat #

    iPod shuffle charged and ready so I don’t have to listen to the baying animals in the south stand. I know the youngsters don’t get it really – glad some people do Chicago.

    November 19, 2014

Leave a Reply

