Skip to content

Rhoys Wiggins

I continued my shirt sponsorship this season by contributing to the coffers money I would undoubtedly spend on a season ticket or two if I lived ‘at home’.

This season I’ve selected Welsh left back Rhoys Wiggins as the player to sponsor. It was a difficult decision as more players were available, which follows the pattern of season tickets sales, with fans wary of parting with large sums of upfront money.

Skipper Johnnie Jackson would have been my first choice but unsurprisingly he had plenty of suitors, so I plumped for Rhoys, whose cheeky company I enjoyed when I sat next to him at the end of season dinner a couple of years ago.

Wiggins has played 112 games for the Addicks since signing for the club in 2011 from Bournemouth. He is notoriously a slow starter to the season, but if he can stay injury free I hope his trademark forward forays and intelligent tackling will see him as another plus point for the team this season. There’s also the prospect that he might get more opportunities to become a regular feature of Chris Coleman’s Welsh squad as well.

Good luck for the season Rhoys.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Dear Chicago Addict

    Just a note to say many thanks for your sterling work and reporting

    As an exile  from London and lifelong Charlton supporter (68 years) your  information updates and comments are a lifeline.

    We (my three daughters) try to go twice a season home or away to follow the ‘Boys’ so daily communicays from  yourself and the other main protagonists  are much appreciated

    This season- who knows?but we do  need help in the form of another commited striker and a skilful midfielder.I know that their is talk of Darren Bent and Diego Poyet returning,wonderful if true but probably fanciful

    Many thanks again

    Richard Partos

    Sent from my iPad

    September 10, 2014
  2. Thanks for reading Richard. Much appreciated.

    Love to see Benty back, but can’t see it. Not a Duchâtelet signing but you never know!

    September 10, 2014

Leave a Reply

