Skip to content

New motor

Bermuda is not a place for petrol heads or car buff’s. Limitations on choice and size of cars plus the extreme expense cloud real excitement in buying a new motor.

I bought my first new car in my mid-20’s. Probably one of the most exciting days of my life. I love cars, I don’t know much about what goes on inside them, but to drive, stroke and admire, oh yes, yet, I have never really owned a properly nice car.

Decent cars in my mid 20’s to early 30’s, then divorce, an old banger and then I only rented them when I was in Chicago, this despite buying at great expense a parking space in my building. But walking was just too easy and I could never justify the expense of filling the parking space with a motor.

We bought our current car almost 6 years ago after we arrived in Bermuda. Bermuda is the polar opposite of Chicago, in that a car is a necessity and pavements and public transport a rarity.

6 years then and time for a change. After spending months looking at the scarcity of options meeting the Bermuda Government’s requirements, maximum width of 67 inches, and length of 169 inches and an engine size no more than 2,000cc with a power to weight ratio that is too complicated to understand, we finally put a deposit down on a new car two weeks ago.

Second hand cars can only be sold privately, and despite only one car per household being allowed, the second-hand market is quite active, and I managed to sell our car within two days. Cars hold their value here, and as I kept ours in good nick, my Dad would be proud, we got a decent price.

With an import duty approaching 200% I am trying not to dwell too much on the fact that in the real world I would be driving a fully loaded Porsche Cayman of the forecourt, but a new car is a new car, and I can’t lie, when I drove it away from the car dealers yesterday afternoon I was a little excited!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. As nice as it may be, it’ll never be as cool as a scooter! 😉

    August 6, 2014
  2. Now that Al is very true. You’d have a field day out here flying around these windy streets on two wheels.

    August 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

