Skip to content

Chicago calling

I’m on way to Chicago today, mostly for work stuff, principally a licensing exam, but I have built in some down time too. Shamefully I haven’t been to the Windy City for almost two years, and I’m looking forward to catching up with some mates and doing plenty of eating.

I am also on a mission to find out if the World Cup has had a lasting affect on Americans. Chicago is one of the more ‘soccer-centric’ cities mostly driven by a large immigrant population, but the American preoccupation with Brazil 2014 interests me, and I watched news programmes portray it with a mixture of delectation and awkwardness.

The photo is of the huge crowd that gathered at Soldier Field, the iconic home of the Chicago Bears, to watch on big screens the USA game against Belgium.

I will report back my findings.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Did you say the World Series?

    July 15, 2014

Leave a Reply

