Skip to content

Just deserts

When the other day my inqusitive-other-half asked me what we were doing for her birthday next Monday my quizzical look clearly did not portray mystery but worthlessness!

I’ve been out every night this week with clients, including Sunday and me and the other half have mostly been communicating by email plus the odd groan when staggering around the bedroom past midnight, I’ve taken the occasional tumble.

My other half sends me calendar invites on a regular basis so whatever she wants me or us to do it goes straight into my work calendar. Shall we say, I can be a hard man to get hold off. Although, if she bothered to read this Blog then she would have some kind of clue at least.

The other night I was receiving a whole load of calendar invites when I was out in a restaurant. I took a look…. kids ballet, Easter egg hunt, kids birthday party, that sort of thing, but then I saw something that caught my eye. Fly to Phoenix, get to hotel, pony trekking in the desert….

The other half has booked for us to go away for the weekend. How considerate, although asking if she could buy her own birthday card went down like a cup of cold sick.

We are off to Scottsdale, Arizona. This afternoon. Get their late tonight, three days in the desert including the other-half’s birthday and return on Tuesday evening, when, yep, I have to go straight to another client dinner.

Scottsdale is not far west of the bustling Phoenix, the state capital of Arizona and will be my first time in the city known for its art district, museums, historic downtown and rodeo. See you next week. Yee-ha.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. redvalley9 #

    Surely a trip to the Valley on Saturday would have been better!

    April 4, 2014
  2. Bangkokaddick #

    You’re a lucky man, CA. Three days in the desert. I am jealous, though I’m having three days off as well. Expected us to be quiet but wrong; loads of bookings, but I can’t complain about that. I’m not cancelling so a skeleton staff will be taking care of everything, while the missus and I are in Khao Lak, a beach resort a couple of hours north of here.

    Have a good time and hopefully a point or more from tomorrow’s game to round off the weekend.

    April 4, 2014
  3. SLC Addick #

    Sitting here in Capella Pedrigall Cabo San Lucas I raise a cold one to you!

    April 4, 2014
    • SLC – I’m raising my cucumber margarita as I type. Love Cabo San Lucas.

      April 5, 2014
      • SLC – I’ve just looked up that hotel – pretty nice.

        April 6, 2014
        • SLC Addick #

          I think you should put it on your list. As ever the staff are beyond exceptional and everything else is outstanding. Try The Ritz Carlton Dove Mountain Tuscon as an alternative to Scottsdale some time.

          April 6, 2014
  4. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone. Did you like Scottsdale?

    April 4, 2014

Leave a Reply

