Skip to content

Charlton Athletic 2 Stevenage 0

Ye of little faith. A massive result for the Addicks today against Stevenage who were well and truly put back in their box.

Not just 3 points but it sounded a very positive display, notably so in the 2nd half and all in front of an excellent crowd of 26,546. The biggest 3rd tier attendance at The Valley since World War II. It was also the biggest ever league crowd to watch Stevenage in their history!

Great to see BWP score, although he could have had a couple of match balls, that first goal since November 19th was celebrated wildly just as it was by me as I pushed my daughter on the swing at the playground up the road.

Michael Morrison is proving a bit special and his opener sounded heavenly.

Johnnie Jackson was back to settle the ship and my mate, who gave me his regular post match thoughts gave Hollands man of the match.

32 down, 14 to go.

Addick Bloggers at The Valley: Hungry Ted; Stickleback; Charlton Casual; Blackheath Addick; Kings Hill Addick; I could be wrong, I could be right; Drinking During the Game; Deepest Darkest.
Powell-ometer: With Jackson and Solly back, Chrissy saw his side get back on track today at an excited Valley.
Elsewhere: The biggest win of the day was at Wycombe, who thrashed Hartlepool 5-0 with Paul Hayes scoring twice and the Doc heading in as well. Matt Spring also scored for Leyton Orient in their 1-1 draw at Bury, Francois Zoko scored in the last minute as Carlisle moved into the play-offs after beating Yeovil. MK Dons won at Bournemouth 1-0, Huddersfield in Simon Grayson’s first game beat Exeter 2-0 with Jordan Rhodes on the scoresheet and Keith Curle won again as County beat Chesterfield.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Pat #

    What a fantastic feeling – and such a relief to see them playing well again. They were all so up for it. Yet again this season they have come up with the goods when it has counted, and just when I thought we might slip back into bad old ways they prove me wrong. I admit to keep thinking we can’t win them all – but why not? Other teams do it – why do I never think my team will? Years of being a Charlton fan I suppose – but I wouldn’t swap them for the world.

    February 27, 2012
  2. “…. but I wouldn’t swap them for the world”

    Not in a million years Pat.

    February 27, 2012
  3. Pat #

    And a quote from the fantastic article on CP in the Mail on Sunday:

    And, given the successes, if a big club should come calling, asking Powell for his services? ‘They did. I manage them. And I want to take them back to where they used to be’.

    Excuse me while I have a little weep.

    February 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

