Skip to content

Chris Powell

Looks like it’s going to happen. Some very good sources on Twitter saying the new owners have offered the manager’s job to Sir Chris after Sven-Goran Eriksson and their new Thai owners gave him permission to talk to us.

Without a shadow of doubt Chris will be a hugely popular choice and it should unite every Charlton fan everywhere but it also represents a huge gamble. But is it more of a gamble than Eddie Howe, Dennis Wise or Gary Johnson?

I won’t lie I have butterflies at how excited I am about Chris Powell being our manager. I once spent 2 weeks in his and his families company on holiday in Italy and the bloke is an absolute superstar.

I just wonder if we as fans need to adjust our immediate expectations a little. A Wise/Poyet or Wise/Wilkins combo rightly or wrongly would have got us all thinking about instant success, but with Chris it has to be about rebuilding the confidence, stopping the decline and the beginning of a new era. This just might take some time. Climbing up the cliff face certainly takes longer than falling of it.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ken #

    Wonderful news! The new owners are no dummies, eh? They are sure pushing the right buttons for me. I immediately feel patience taking over from angst. I hope the fans give him time.

    January 13, 2011
  2. Pembury addick #

    Its certainly a long term investment CA. Just hope the Addickted will see it that way. Hang on tight for that next part of the roller coaster…..

    Pembury Addick

    January 13, 2011
  3. Chris #

    Skeptical.

    It’s great that he’s being given the chance, but i’m skeptical.

    Wrong appointment in my view, much as I love the bloke.

    January 13, 2011
  4. david richards #

    I think he is the right choice, CAFC through and through. He will have the best interests of the club at heart. Yes it may take him alittle while to get into the job, but I would rather have him than Johnson, Wise or anyone else who does not have Charlton blood in their veins. COYA.

    January 13, 2011
  5. newyorkaddick #

    CA, of course it’s a riskier choice than Howe, Wise and Johnson (although even experience is no guarantee of success).

    Is 6th (and falling) in League One with an ageing tired-looking squad the time for such sentimental luxury?

    January 13, 2011
    • No, it is not but nor was it when we appointed Curbishley and Gritt. But then we had no money. But we might not have much money now. Who the hell knows?

      Everybody has to start somewhere just like Howe, Wise, O’Driscoll and Hill – each of whom were successes in their first jobs.

      January 13, 2011
  6. Ahhh!! What an emotional rollercoaster this week has been.

    I was desperately hoping Eddie Howe would get on board when news of our discussions with him first broke earlier in the week, but applauded his loyalty when he chose to stay at Bournemouth. That looks like a bad joke now obviously.

    I wasn’t online for much of this afternoon so completely failed to pick up on the emerging rumours that Chris Powell was to be given the job. I logged on this evening to read the news and have to say my initial reaction was: wrong choice.

    However, having read the flurry of blog posts on the subject, the enthusiasm and support for Chris has undoubtedly rubbed off on me and I’m feeling more positive about the appointment than I was a couple of hours ago.

    I agree with all that has been said above in terms of him needing some time to make his mark on the job, but given that the new owners cited a fear of failing to maintain a promotion as the reason for sacking Parkinson, are they really likely to demonstrate the patience that he will need? I’m not sure I can see it myself.

    The alternatives were few and far between though in my opinion. Once the Dennis Wise rumours had disappeared and Howe had told us to do one, Gary Johnson appeared like the only credible candidate. However, Posh’s efforts this season have hardly been stellar and I’m not sure he would have done much better than Parkinson.

    I will support Powell wholeheartedly in the job, but just can’t see that this was a decision made by the board as they saw him as a ‘Charlton man’. Rather they gave Parkinson the shove without an appointment in mind, got snubbed by Howe, and have now realised that time and options are running out so turned to Powell.

    With all that said – good luck Sir Christopher!

    January 13, 2011
  7. TexAddick #

    I think it’s a mistake. He’s a great guy and “Charlton through and through” but so what? So am I and we’d be in League 2 by Easter if I was in charge.
    We need someone with experience as a manager. How many good coaches are never quite able to make the move up to the top job? And we can’t even be sure Chris is a good coach at this early stage of his career. Our position in the league is pretty good but fragile. We need someone with experience.

    I would love to be eating these words in a few months, but I’m really worried.

    January 14, 2011
  8. Su #

    With the squad we have, we need to rebuild…this is the perfect choice!

    He knows the club, he knows a lot of the players, he knows the fans, and he knows the set up…but, he is also his own man, he has his own ideas…he has proved he can work with people….definitely at this time the perfect choice.

    January 14, 2011
  9. Pat #

    Oh here we bloody go – and he hasn’t even said yes yet. There are at least 2 of you above who are heading for a slap. See CA – it will do me no good if he’s appointed – can you imagine me when the first person in the East Stand boos him? I could hardly watch when he played for England I was so anxious for him – this is going to be worse.

    January 14, 2011

Leave a Reply

